Zorin OS 16

I am new to LINUX and I am looking for my first Distro.
After a lot of searching, I am going to try Zorin OS 16 and Mint.
I have searched this website and did not find any mention of Zorin, any insight would be appreciated.

Thank you

1 Like

Hello @Ubdavis and welcome to the forums!
I have heard great things about Zorin 16, especially the Pro version. The reason you haven’t found anything yet is because the forums are barely a month old, so everything is building up as we go. :slight_smile:

Therefore, we have decided to essentially start with the distro that most people will feel comfortable in. That would be Linux Mint and Ubuntu - though there are a few of us more advanced that will go for a different one.

Know that Zorin is based on Ubuntu, so a lot of the troubleshooting done here applies on Zorin as well.

1 Like

Thanks I will start with Mint and watch for Zorin

2 Likes

Well, I installed Mint and Zorin Core on bootable usb drives and ran them on my Samsung laptop and my Lenovo desktop. After trying each one for a few days, I have decided on Zorin Pro. The installation on the laptop went fine but the desktop was a little trickier due to extra storage drives.

Thanks

Ubdavis

2 Likes

Hi Ubdavis,

My two cents, start with Ubuntu. I think it’s the least “painful” transition from Windows (admittedly, I haven’t had a Windows box since 2004). Ubuntu is the most popular, so a lot more users to guide you through a new system. Start with the easiest to install, with the largest community, then go from there.

2 Likes

It always is on systems where there are many drives! I used to scratch my head back in the day when I had identical drives in the system. I’d have to disconnect them all but the one I wanted to install the OS into. :smiley:

1 Like

After running Ubuntu LTS for a couple weeks, decided to overwrite it with Zorin 16 Core yesterday. Thinking I’m liking Zorin’s Desktop better.

2 Likes