How to download my Win10 to an SSD to run it from there?

I’m really a noob. But I have been reading through all the messages and haven’t found anyone addressing this issue. Unless I missed it, but I tried!

I have an HP Pavilion with Intel(R) Core™ i5-6200U CPU @ 2.30GHz 2.40 GHz
12 GB RAM. It is not happy with Win10 (bogs down, runs at 100% disk often) and I want to be free of Billy G’s stuff in the worst way. But I still need Win* for work.

I’ve searched and I’m learning. But… I need some help getting over this hump. I have an external 516GB SSD all ready to plug in, but I’m missing something. I want to know if I can have both Win* and LM on my SSD so I can switch between them? I know Ventoy allows me to load several OS or distros and run whichever one I want to from it. Can my data files also be used there to access from whichever OS I’m using? That’s really the key thing for me. I’ve used a live boot and I love Linux Mint, but where does it save stuff when I have to shut it down to open up Win* again?

Also, how can I download Win* from my laptop to my SSD so I can have it there to run it from.

I know VM is the best option, but I’m uncertain how to accomplish that. Baby steps!

1 Like

This from 11 years ago:

This from 5 years ago:

https://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?t=287353

For Win10 - Curious as to why you want to run Linux from the SSD? Anywho - create two partitions on the SSD. Clone your current hard drive to one of the partitions on the SSD and then install Mint on the other partition.

Set up the BIOS to boot from USB.

Don’t quote me but I think the performance of both OSes will be degraded by the USB connection.

When I made my dash for “freedom” I swapped out my DVD/CD drive for an adapter that allowed me to put my laptops original 2.5" internal 500GB drive with Win7 on it into the adapter. I then connected a new 2.5" 2TB drive where the original drive had been and installed Ubuntu on it.