How do I get started?

I’m brand new to Linux and not very tech savvy. Over a year ago I tried installing first Ubuntu and then Mint, but couldn’t. It turns out the old computers I tried to use didn’t have enough gig, or whatever! (Really not techy!) So we got one of the kids’ old computers fixed and cleared and we’re ready to try again but I completely forget where to get the programs and how to download them onto a flash drive and then upload them! I remember the website having pretty good instructions, so if anyone could please send the appropriate links for the best version for people who only know Windows (last I tried to figure this out, it was Mint) I would appreciate it. Since I downloaded over a year ago, the version I have is probably old and needs updating. Thank you!

2 Likes

Hello!
Welcome.
Linux loves old computers! And it does require a bit of saavy to get started. Knowing a mouse from a keyboard or monitor will be required.

A good place to start is with Linux Mint.

Linux Mint Install Guide

This will help you learn about the different Desktops and features.

Personally I believe the Cinnamon Edition is the place to start. Looks great and is familiar to the Windows and Mac Desktops.

There are lots of YouTube videos that will help you as well.
Search for “Installing Linux for beginners”

It is worth the time and effort. Once you are up and running you will wonder what you waited for.

Good Luck!

2 Likes
2 Likes

Welcome to the light.

You’ll find that the Linux and FOSS communities are great and helpful.

You can start with this thread:

Arch is a more advanced user base and typically “upity” about helping newcomers so I would avoid most anything on that side. Sticking with Debian based or any of the many flavors of Ubuntus would be a good place to start.

Rufus, Balena Etcher are the most prominent ones for writing the ISO files to a USB to make it a bootable thumb drive.