Hosting your own website & email

Need some advice. I think there are other people here in the same situation. I am a small a small business owner. My website is currently being hosted through Godaddy. I also get business email through Godaddy and they just switched me to Microsoft 360 email. I am NOT OK with this! I also pay for ssl security certificates and whatever else they make me buy. I would like to take control of my Website. Thanks to this group I see I have options.
First I have spent tens of thousands $$ on Internet advertising (SEO & PPP) I don’t know how these people working at marketing companies sleep at night! Many many years of SEO have done nothing except line pockets. Never the less any progress that might have been made I don’t want to loose. Whatever I do the website needs to remain marketable. I’m thinking my options are I could change hosting companies or host myself. If I host myself can I do this through VPS & NAS.
What would be a good way for me to take control of my website & email??? Any suggestions will be appreciated!!

1 Like

Hello @HealthyPools!
I have a co-worker at my company who decided to pull the plug from GoDaddy last Spring. I pulled the plug from Google last Winter and removed our company’s website from WIX, which is partnered with Google.

There are several options you can go for:

Shift to a non Big Tech company

This was the first thing I did, as I didn’t have enough bandwidth to support a full blown website at my location. This has changed the past couple of months, but I will still need to make a server investment and dedicate the time to set things up.