Having problems even getting mint onto usb stick. Can someone help?

Absolute beginner to linux, trying to get linux mint onto a Dell Latitude E5430.
I was following this video, How To Install Linux (Mint) - Step By Step Guide - YouTube as i cant find any on this forum and i cant even get the thing onto the usb stick properly. It says it wont decompress properly.
Can anyone point me to some info /vids on how to get it onto flashdrive properly, do i have to verify it, that all looks a nightmare? It seems like I cant even get to the first hurdle and i cant seem to find advise on the forum. Where do i look. Thanks

1 Like

@foxy check out https://linuxmint.com/ it will tell you exactly how to flash the .iso file onto the USB stick as well as providing download links for a couple of different versions. I have found that using this site has negated the need to verify your download - unless it does not work then you verify it. All the instructions are on the site. If you need any more help please reply in this thread and I or one of the admins will get back to you. Welcome to the first steps to regaining your online freedom. Like all new things, it sems hard at first but the more you get used to it the easier it becomes. Cheers!

1 Like

Thanks i will try that

Thanks for your time, i have downloaded mint onto stick, downloaded Etcher onto computer, i select image and select iso, but then when it comes to select target, it finds the usb drive but it wont let me select anything anywhere on the screen. i have uploaded screenshot, if you coudl advise i would be grateful

1 Like

You need to have the downloaded ISO file on your computer in say downloads, not on the usb at this point. When you run etcher again and select the file look for it where you placed it, when it begins the writing process to your selected USB it will put the necessary file, format etc to create a bootable USB stick.

Hope this clears it up.

2 Likes