Beginner driver disaster do I need to reformat and start over?

I’m an absolute beginner who does not know how to use the terminal. While trying to update my wifi driver by watching a youtube video, I must have deleted something important because now my Ubuntu will not let me install the driver for my wifi. I can not connect to the internet even with a cord. The computer says I have a strong signal but it just won’t connect. When I go to Software and update it shows the driver but when I choose it nothing happens for a long time, then it times out. I’m really stuck. Can anyone help? Is there a way to get it from another computer or do I need to start from scratch?

1 Like

Hello @Suzanne !
What is the model of the computer you are running Ubuntu on? Normally, if you plug in an ethernet cord that goes directly to your router, or switch, you should be able to connect. If not, then it could be a DNS issue - which means it cannot “translate” the IP addresses to the actual Internet name of the server it tries to reach.

Also, if you connect via the cable, can you go to the Network Properties for the Wired Connection and post a picture of each tab?

Thank you!

I have a 2011 Macbookpro with only Ubuntu. It recognizes the internet connection both with and without the cord until I start Ubuntu. It won’t boot to the flash drive only the hard drive.
It does not see the WiFi in Ubuntu.
It has the correct driver listed but when I choose it it just times out.

Thank you for responding. I have been working on this for two days and I’m so bewildered. Best Suzanne

This was my hardware info taken before I goofed up the computer.

Thank you for the info! I did a thorough search and found out that your system needs the firmware for your adapter (which happens to be from the same - infamous company). I’m attaching a ZIP file that I picked up. Please download it and copy it to your troublesome computer. :wink:

Decompress it and enter the folder via terminal. Once inside, type: