Wireless not functioning before Linux install

I want to install Linux Mint on a 2011 ASUS windows laptop. I can only connect to the internet through the Ethernet cable. Will I be able to correct this after installing Mint or does this need to be addressed beforehand? I’ve no idea what I’m doing…

I’m a newbie as well. If its a hardware issue, meaning is your wireless module is damaged somehow, chances are it wont work after. The Mint install went on my mac. The hardware in your ASUS is more common than mac in the general market, so chances are good that the drivers for the wireless will be fine.

Be patient with yourself. Its easy to get overwhelmed but it really isnt that bad.

Mine is running great!

Please open up a terminal and type in:

lspci

Press enter and please copy/paste the output here so that I know which driver you’re looking for. Chances are Mint will detect your WiFi but cannot activate it.

I have burned the Linux Mint ISO to a USB and can boot fine. My bluetooth works (yay), But, I can’t establish a wireless connection. If I call up Driver Manager, it tells me that I need a driver installed. If I select it, it tries to go to the internet for the driver. How can I install the driver from the USB?

In this scenario, the best approach is to connect your system via an Ethernet cable. In most scenarios, a direct upgrade can help with the issue. Do you happen to have such a cable available to connect your laptop directly to your router?

Actually, this is my desktop computer. I don’t have an ethernet cable, but I can get one if there’s no other choice. Edited to add: I can get a wireless connection on my virtual machine with Linux Mint, just not when booting from the USB. I’d like to ditch Windows, but wanted to try the boot disk out first.

Apologies, Jenny! Yes, an Ethernet cable is always a great backup to have - as in some scenarios it’s a life saver. :slight_smile: