Self hosted cloud server?

Hi. My first post here. I have already installed Linux on 2 old systems from what I have learned on the Telegram channel.

I came across this system called Umbrel that runs on Linux or Raspberry Pi that you can use to host your own cloud server and your own bitcoin lighting mode. I like the idea of getting all my photos and data off of iCloud or google drive. Seems like the only thing missing is the ability to host your own email server.

I’m pretty new to Linux and Bitcoin so I am wondering what the experts think about this before I try it out. Thanks.

I’ve been looking into this too. A combination of NextCloud and a home server looks very appealing to me right now. Theres also Mail-In-A-Box that uses NextCloud for setting up your own email server. All it really requires is that you purchase a domain name, which ends up translating to anywhere from $1-$200 a year depending on the extension.

1 Like

Nextcloud can so some amazing things.

• Sync your files Like Dropbox
  • Calendar like Google
  • Online Docs like Google Docs
  • Sync contacts like Google Contacts
  • Client apps for PC, Phone etc.
  • Send share links like Dropbox
  • Runs on a home server or Virtual Private Server

I should also mention that I use Nextcloud with my Linux Pinephone. This is a huge help because without Nextcloud Contacts I would have to store them on my phone only.

Free and Open Source

This is a “Level 2” type of project. If you have not become comfortable running Linux on your own machine, you may want to do that before proceeding with a server project. You may want to watch a video on “SSH and SSH Keys” so you understand what is going on. If you want to dive in, proceed. Once this is up and running, it just keeps working on its own. Nextloud can run on a server in your home or a rented private server from places like Digital Ocean or Linode.
Youtube Video about Nextcloud
YouTube Video for Nextcloud running on a Raspberry Pi

8 Likes