No sound on 2017 iMac

I’ve researched and tried several suggestions but I’m still uanble to get sound on my 2017 iMac. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Steve

==========

My setup: 2017 27” iMac running Linux Mint 21 Cinnamon version 5.4.12, Kernel 5.15.0-47

==========

PulseAudio Volume Control reports:
Output Devices: Dummy Output

Configuration: Ellesmere HDMI Audio [Radeon RX 470/480/570/570X/580/580X/590]

Configuration Profile reports: “Off” and all entries in the Profile drop-down show [unplugged] and [unavailable]

@spstepp, would you share what you have tried?

I am wondering if it’s a Kernel version issue… (I am a newbie but solved this problem for my chromebook… found out there is a sound issue with Ubuntu 22.04 (it’s going to be the same for everything based on this, I think that includes Mint 21…)

I’ve tried a number of things from the Mint Forums “Hardware Support > Sound” section.

Here are the links for the suggestions I tried.

1. http://mreen.epizy.com/SoundFixTips.html?i=1
  2. http://mreen.epizy.com/SoundFixTips2.html

In addition I also tried an oem kernel 5.17, “sudo apt-get install linux-oem-22.04” but this failed so I rolled back to the previous kernel with Timeshift.

At this point I’ve ordered an external soundcard dongle and hope I can get taht to work.

Thanks,

Steve

If you are up for it…

Try testing from a USB with an older version with older kernel (my sound stopped working at Kernel 5.12 though on a Mac in Zorin… thought newer kernel 5.19 might be better but there is a strange noise when video is buffering…)

The point is to start from a place where your sound works.

If I were trying this, I’d start with Ubuntu 20.04 (kernel 5.4) or 18.04 (kernel 4.15), you can find the ISO files here: DistroWatch.com: Ubuntu

I don’t know what a soundcard dongle is so you must be more tech able than I am… So, please keep us posted… if it looks like what I went through to figure my sound issue out, I will let you know, too.