No Bluetooth adapters have been found

I’m wondering if anyone knows why I lost my bluetooth capability after loading kde plasma 5.18.8 + ubuntu 20.04? The error reads “No Bluetooth adapters have been found”. I have an Asus bluetooth adapter which worked fine when running Ubuntu on it’s own. My system is a Dell Latitude laptop. I’ve tried installing Bluez and Blueman and neither seemed to do the trick. I think I need expert advice :grin:
TIA,
Denise

I have no real experience with Ubuntu or Asus, but I’ll throw in.

1. I had a KERNEL that didn’t play well with my updated video drivers on an NVidia (go figure) card, so you may look at trying a different Kernel

2. Mint (what i use) has a DRIVER MANAGER which i would think straight Ubuntu would have something similar, and it does a great job at telling you if any drivers need update…maybe your bluetooth drivers need updated to play with the Plasma.

Not sure just things to try that can’t hurt

1 Like

Hey @DPFisher!
Can you open up a terminal and execute the following command?

lspci

Once you do, please send me the output by responding to this message (so that I get tagged). :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi Vasileios! Apologies for my late response to your request… Here is the output;

Hey @DPFisher!
Apologies for my delay also. From the LSPCI I see that you do have a network adapter, (the Centrino one), which is only for the WiFi. The Asus, if you still have it connected, does not appear here.
Can you also run the following commands and post the results here?

lsusb
inxi --full

If Inxi doesn’t exist, you can install it via:

sudo apt install inxi

:slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi @vasileios!
Here is the first one:

…and here is the second:

Thank you for posting this, @DPFisher!
The process needs a few steps, but once done, it should work normally. First, the Asus USB utilizes a Realtek chip, so, we’ll need drivers for that, not the actual Asus.