Linux with 2 Drives

Hello,

I’m new to this whole Linux thing, but excited to remove myself from Big Tech system. I have installed Linux successfully on an old ASUS laptop and a Desktop tower the was built for me.

The Desktop Tower has 2 drives. I installed Linux on the main drive. I have a backup drive that is 3 TB. I have done nothing with this. Do I need to add Linux to this drive, as well, in order to use it? I can’t access it from the main drive in the file manager. Since I’m used to Windows, I’m still trying to figure this out.

I appreciate the help!
Jeff

Hello @jeff942 and welcome to the forums!
No, you don’t need to install anything. You just need to mount it (and put it on auto-mount). You’ll be able to use it normally. Do you happen to have anything worthwhile on the second drive or is it completely empty?

Thank you @vasileios !

No, i removed any important files from the second drive.

@vasileios How do I get the backup drive to work?

Hey Jeff!
I apologize for the delay. I had half the answer typed out (as I just saw by revisiting), but got distracted by emergencies.

The easiest way is to use the Disks application. Hit your Windows/Command key and type in Disks. Run it, then select your backup drive and tap the little gear icon on the bottom of the long bar that appears on the right side of the window.

In the screenshot below, just select your backup drive.

Then turn off the auto options and select the auto-mount. At the area, where my pointer is, select to show your drive via its LABEL, if it has one. Then click ok and select the “Play” button next to the gear you selected earlier. This will mount it for your current session and then it will remount after every reboot. If it fails to do so at any time, you can always hit the “Play” button in the application or just select it on your file manager.

Please ignore the warning you see on my window - as I’m demonstrating this on the single drive my laptop has.