Lenovo Thinkcentre

I bought this very very cheap “refurbished” Lenovo to play around with while learning. Be gentle, I’m still new to this stuff.
The Problem: Using Ventoy bootable USB with a few distros on it. I’ve tried all of them at this point. Same outcome each time. I get “error 1962: No Operating System Found. Press any key to repeat boot sequence.” This is with BIOS, Startup, Boot Mode set to UEFI. Virtually same outcome with Boot Mode set to Auto or Legacy. I get more dialog with the error but always the same error.
If the solution is to drop kick this thing, right now I’d be more than happy to do it. Just kidding…not!

Originally this Lenovo came to me with Windows 10. I originally attempted dual boot (educational) but had the same error. Never could fix it so I did another install attempt with a complete format. Same error. So far I have tried Ubuntu, Kubuntu, Manjaro, Mint and just finished ArchLinux (once again educational following a guide).

Any advise would be appreciated, thanks for looking.

First, have you verified that your USB was written? Simply plug it in to another machine and check that there are contents on the drive, if all is well insert the USB drive into you Lenovo.

When you do a install on a Lenovo they suggest shutting down completely. Win 8, 10 and 11 don’t really “shutdown”… i suspect this is part of their “fast boot” and “spy capabilities”.

To achieve this you will need to hold the power button for at least 7 seconds. Upon boot you will either hit “F12” repeatedly, holding down or speed clicking wont help, directly after power on or some other defined F# key(search your model on Lenovo support to access bios) to interrupt start up and enter bios.