Installing GalliumOS on Google Chromebooks

Installing GalliumOS (Gallium Operating System) is a great way to get rid of Google from your Chromebook in its entirety. If you check out the GalliumOS wiki pages, they will be of tremendous help. Please note that I’m a newbie to Linux and not an expert in any sense of the term; I’d promised some people I would note my steps in another Chromebook conversion and am hoping these notes will be of use to someone. It’s a journey with many valuable lessons to learn along the way.

Please note this essential disclaimer: I’m in no way responsible for any damage to anyone’s computers and using this tutorial is 100% your responsibility. I’m not liable for any problems or damage incurred. You wouldn’t be here and contemplating changing the OS on your Chromebook if you were afraid of losing your Chromebook; if you are afraid of irreparable damage, maybe this project isn’t for you. However, I’m loving GalliumOS and feel it’s worth the time and lessons learned. Please do read through this entire post before starting so you have an idea of the process prior to digging in.

First, you need to determine exactly which hardware you have in your Chromebook. This page (Hardware Compatibility - GalliumOS Wiki) will help you sort out which version of GalliumOS you need to download. Just as there are many distributions, or distros, of Linux, there are quite a few versions of GalliumOS and you MUST download and checksum the one that is tailored for your computer. I’m focusing on the Dell 3120, Chromebook 11, from 2015. The table on this page shows I must use Bay Trail and I must flash the firmware in order for this to work. This isn’t hard; you just have to follow the directions.

Please Note: If you do not already own a Chromebook and are looking for a used one to purchase, be sure it is able to be converted as shown on the list on the above page. Some Chromebooks simply are not able to convert to GalliumOS.