Installing Fonts on Mint Mate?

I’m just getting started with Linux (finally) and I need help with something that seems like it should be so basic: installing fonts.

Backstory, I’m running Mint Mate on a 2012 Macbook Pro (completely wiped of all Mac stuff). I had to get my nephew to install it because I couldn’t get it to work.

Using it has been going great so far, but now I can’t figure out how to install some new fonts I’ve purchased that I’d like to use in both Libre and GIMP.

In trying to install them where instructed by online sources (usr/shared/fonts/…), I was told I didn’t have permission to do so. So I went and checked my permissions and I’m set up with “Custom” instead of Administrator permissions. Not sure if that’s just how it is, or if my nephew altered my permissions to keep me from screwing things up! Lol!

So, I tried changing my permissions to administrator, but then EVERYTHING stopped working for me. Internet wouldn’t connect, VPN, no programs would load, etc.

So I reverted back with TimeShift (thankfully I’d backed up yesterday!) and now things are working again. BUT, I still don’t have those fonts installed!

Is it perhaps that these fonts aren’t compatible with Linux? It doesn’t seem to be the case, because I can extract and view them as jpegs…

Can anyone help me figure out what I’m doing wrong, or what I need to do in order to get them to install so that I can use them?

Thank you!

What are the names of the fonts?

To download Microsoft fonts found this…

They are fonts I purchased from Creative Market called Castile and Lora.

Thanks! I’ll try this… wish me luck! I’m really struggling figuring out Linux!

Just realized that I didn’t hit the reply button properly—so thanks again for sharing this! I’m gonna try to get it to work!

Open your software manager and search for Font-manager.
That may help you.

1 Like