How can one learn enough (and what to learn) to earn a living with Linux

ב"ה

Ok, let’s try this again…

I’m new to linux – trying to learn it so I can use it somehow to make a living (either by getting a job or start to load linux into computers for people and then tutor/teach them what to do.

So, towards that end, I’m trying to find out what I should learn (right now I’m working on Inkscape and GIMP – my main “gig” is graphic design but I also am a tutor – mostly math – and a writer/proofreader/editor) so – if you can advise me about this (and how to find those things to learn) I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks.

Hello @compugraphd and welcome to the forums!

It all depends on your end goal. If you want to do graphics, then everything will depend on the final result you provide, regardless of the tools you use.

If you wish to dive deeper into Linux, then learning to be a systems administrator (i.e. building and handling servers) or programming (such as Python, which is an easy field to get started), there is an extremely high demand for these professions in the IT field.

On the simpler side, you can find old laptops, purchase them at a bargain price, refurbish them and install Linux. Then, you can see those refurbished systems for a good profit margin. First, check the market to see where the prices range and then have a look at the laptops where the easy-going distributions work best (like the Ubuntu, Linux Mint, etc.).

You can find a series of laptops where Ubuntu (for example) works great on, which will also be the case for most Linux distributions. There is a good list in the link below:

1 Like

ב"ה

Thanks – sounds like a good place to start.