Does anyone have a good step by step guide on how to "Degoogle" a phone?

Apologies if this has been asked before. Question is in the title.

Thank you in advance.

1 Like

I’ve never done it before, but I’ve looked into it online. It’s not as simple as one would think, but it can be done. Some say G :eyes:gle Pixels (ironically) and Moto G7’s are the easiest to deG :eyes:gle. Others have said you can do it with some Samsung Galaxy’s as well. It may depend on what phone you have in the end and how much time & energy you’re able to invest.

Another option may be installing an alternative Android-friendly open-source OS on your phone (a Linux Phone). The following thread may be of use to you. There are some resources mentioned there about deG :eyes:gled phones throughout the conversation:

2 Likes

I haven’t taken that challenge either. I went for the pinephone. So far it seems to work fine but it is not RollRoyce class! However, if you are specifically looking for a de-googled option, try this website where you can get them already pre-configured with a linux distro. Rob Braxman Hope this helps??

3 Likes

I have done it on 2 x Samsung Galaxy S5 phones recently.

I used LineageOS (no GAPPS). It worked like a charm.

Basically, Samsung devices come with a unique boot mode called “Download mode”. Heimdall is a cross-platform, open-source tool for interfacing with Download mode on Samsung devices. This program was available in the Fedora Linux repo so I could install it easily.

Power off the device, and boot it into download mode, then insert USB cable.

Run heimdall … device reboots.

Power off, boot into download mode again and use heimdall to flash the “recovery” image onto the phone.

Unplug USB cable, then manually reboot into “recovery” mode. Then “factory reset / format”.

Then “sideload” the LineageOS zip file, then reboot system (on phone menu). Once rebooted I was in the initial setup of Lineage.