Can anyone help this Linux Newbie w/a forgotten sign-in/password?

Hey there Forum Folks. I am just venturing into the Linux world, and I have a HP All-In-One that was “Linux Minted” by a friend of my son. Unfortunately, I cannot remember the sign-in or password, and he can’t either, and he removed absolutely everything, so I can’t boot it up another way. Is there any way to reset this thing so I can sign in or start over or whatever? I am new to the Linux world, and it was so different that the usual functionality, plus I couldn’t download Telegram, so I figured I would learn it when I had time and set it aside without recording the sign-in and password (total doofus move on my part). I can’t just toss this computer and I don’t know what to do. I am writing this from an old laptop that hasn’t yet gotten the Linux treatment, though I hope to update it in the future and also get a de-Googled, de-Androided phone if possible. Appreciate any help I can get on this.

Here’s some info I copied a while back that might help. I think I actually got it from this forum… can’t remember…

Reset Linux Password

upon boot (right after your BIOS screen disappears), tap the ESC key on your keyboard to get the boot menu for Mint. Then, select the Advanced Options and find the FallBack or Recovery for your current Kernel. Usually the 2nd options will do.

Once it loads up, you will be presented with a menu. Select to drop down to Root Terminal and then type in the following:

ls /home

The name of the folder you see in there is your actual username. For the sake of convenience, I shall call it your_username, so please change it in the command below to correspond to the name of the folder you saw above.

passwd your_username

It will ask twice for a password. It will not be visible, so go ahead and type it in. Once done, press Enter. It will ask you again for verification. Do the same and press Enter.
Once done, the new password will be set. Feel free to type:

reboot